Ellen Kaye Dresses

I recently added this fun and fabulous 1940’s Conversational Print dress by Ellen Kaye to my shop Noble Savage Vintage on Ruby Lane. It is one of my favorite pieces and I just adore it’s quirky print, which consists of a repeat of swordfish and a ladies head. I typically see 1950’s dresses from this maker. I decided to do a little bit of research.

1940’s Ellen Kaye Conversational Print Dress

It turns out that the name has been around since 1922, trademarked by LANG-KOHN, INC. of  ST. LOUIS.   Apparantly , St. Louis was the origin of the junior apparel craze.   In 1926,  Lang-Kohn, Inc. would become the company, that manufactured the first junior size garments in the country.  I found quite a few Ellen Kaye ads in the Newspaper archives and thought I would share a few.

Sunday, October 03, 1926, Sioux City, Iowa

San Antonio Express – Sunday ,September 07 ,1930

Sunday, October 08, 1939, Paris, Texas

San Antonio Light December 10, 1943

Charleston Daily Mail – 2/18/1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cedar Rapids Gazette – Wednesday ,September 09 ,1959


Care to see more?Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter 
@NobleSavageVint
Check out out Website: 
www.NobleSavageVintage.com
Shop on RubyLane: 
NobleSavageVintage.RubyLane.com
Shop on Etsy: 
http://www.etsy.com/shop/NobleSavageVintage

Leave a comment